Display Suite: Administrator only

Pink96's picture

Hello to all!

I'm new to this group and new to this feature/function.

I am loving the Display Suite and having fun with it.
My current issue that I'm seeing is that another user is able to go in and change what I've done.

How can I avoid this?

I'm at the "administrator" level
... I've created an "admin" role and gave permissions to do certain things, however, I never gave permission to the "Display Suite" function, but yet they are able to see the "Manage Display" tab/link when they "edit" the article, page, book, etc.

How or where do I remove the "Manage Display" tab from them without limiting their functionality of being able to edit the file from a "content" level??

I hope what I wrote makes sense... LOL

Thanks in advance! =)


Try this

Lars Bo Jensen's picture

Set things right at /admin/people/permissions -> Display suite

Make sure, other users aren't admins after all, and see if the order is right (you want admin to be the last in this list) at /admin/people/permissions/roles

And maybe (I don't think it's relevant, but you should always try it to make sure) clearing the cache at /admin/config/development/performance will solve it.

I'm guessing. Ask again, if this doesn't help :)

Good luck

I figured it out...

Pink96's picture

Thanks Lars!

I should have posted back that I was able to figure it out.... and of course, AFTER I posted my question... LOL

Oh... and the "Display Suite" section only has me as the administrator accessing it. That was the first place I went to.

Basically, I had to remove / un-check these for them under the "Node" section

Bypass content access control
View, edit and delete all content regardless of permission restrictions. Warning: Give to trusted roles only; this permission has security implications.

Administer content types
Warning: Give to trusted roles only; this permission has security implications.

I'm still trying to figure out what this one is... LOL

Administer content
Warning: Give to trusted roles only; this permission has security implications.

Thanks in advance for your response =)

Administer content

Lars Bo Jensen's picture

Administer content:

Permission that allows the user to create, edit, and delete nodes of all types. This overrides all the create/edit own/edit options for specific content types below. This also exposes the 'Publishing options' section when editing nodes, allowing users to promote content to the front page, publish and unpublish, make sticky, and create new revisions. (Permissions referencenote: for D5 & 6)

It also means having access to /admin/content and the bulk updating there.

You're welcome :)


Kebz's picture

Thank you!

It's me... Pink96 ... I lost access to my email, so I had to re-create new accounts everywhere =... lol

Thanks again for your inputs =)


Display Suite

Group organizers

Group notifications

This group offers an RSS feed. Or subscribe to these personalized, sitewide feeds:

Hot content this week